On Silence & My Urban Garden

  Today I deviate from my normal blog posts on writing and reading. This is a great time of the year where I live because it’s quiet, relatively anyway. In our modern world I’m not sure it’s ever really quiet. There is always the occasional plane or siren but the constant noise that I’ve learned to consciously ignore is gone. The weather in Florida is close to ideal now, which means the air conditioning and fans are off.

There are other sounds, the tick and chime of my antique mantle clock, the sound of the wind outside my open window, a chattering squirrel or calling bird, but these are intermittent, peaceful sounds that do more to accent the silence than interrupt it. So I’m taking the week off to enjoy it. I will probably still do a little writing and, of course, reading but the writing and especially the self promotion have become to feel like a job of late, and a thankless one at that, so I’m cutting back on them for a little while.

Today I planted a garden, although a rather odd one. I was given a couple of planters that are suspended off the ground. I planted them with tomatoes, peppers, strawberries, lettuce, and herbs. This is about the extent of my agricultural expertise and I am far from certain I won’t manage to kill these poor defenseless plants. That’s them on the left, hanging there, trusting my nonexistent gardening abilities to keep then alive long enough to produce tasty and nutritious things to eat.

I have no idea if I will succeed in this endeavor. Like with all things, the risk of failure is there but it was an enjoyable experience and not terribly expensive. I’ll let you know how they’re doing in about a month or so. The oranges on the tree in my backyard should be almost ripe by then too. (The tree survives because it needs no care at all and the fruit makes the best juice I’ve ever had.)

Now though I think I’ll lay by my open window and read for a while.

About Dave

A reader and writer of speculative fiction. See my website for more information on me and my writing. https://dlmorrese.wordpress.com/

Posted on October 26, 2011, in Thoughts and Observations and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wow. I think Florida is probably the place to live. I mean, growing stuff this time of year–incredible. I just cleaned out my garden. Frost killed most everything a bit a go. But I will tell you this, nothing is better than a tomato out of your own garden–delicious.

    Best of luck with your garden and an orange tree sounds amazing. Florida oranges–yum, yum. *says a girl from Utah who can’t grow oranges*

Leave a Reply

