Tom Corbett – Space Cadet

My first introduction to speculative fiction books was through Tom Corbett, Space Cadet.  These books, I discovered later, were based on a 1950s T.V. show.  I was too young to have ever seen the show but the books started me on the road to thinking of other worlds and the way things might be in the future.  The science was badly flawed, the characters were far from complex, and the stories were certainly sexist but at the time I didn’t realize that and probably would not have cared.  When I read a Tom Corbett book I was transported in time and space and I cared about what happened to Tom and his friends.  That’s all that mattered.

I had them all.  I wish I still did.  Somewhere in my family’s various moves they got lost or sold or simply tossed out.  I don’t know.  Probably just as well.  I’m sure I would be disappointed with them now and wonder what I ever saw in them.  But the memory of what they meant to me at the time lingers and it’s a fond memory.

A history and synopses of the books in the series can be found here:

http://www.solarguard.com/tcgd1a.htm

About Dave

A reader and writer of speculative fiction. See my website for more information on me and my writing. https://dlmorrese.wordpress.com/

Posted on May 21, 2011, in Influences, Science Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

